May 2016

Warkworth WI news May 2016

Marion welcomed Joanne Patrick, our Federation Advisor, and 31 members to our May meeting which is also the annual meeting. A group photograph was taken


The President’s notices included a reminder about the outing to the Old Boathouse for our meal on June 7th. June will provide reminder slips of menu choices and drinks should be paid for separately. Kate has drafted a website which will be approved by the committee. Marion thanked the craft group for their work making the hanging, which was on display. The next meeting after the meal would be on July 7th when our speaker is the local author, Caroline Roberts. There will be craft afternoon (date to be announced) to share ideas on our shopping bags for the Show in August. Donations to the Pelican (£20) and Warkworth in Bloom (£50) were proposed by Pat and agreed by the meeting.

The competition for a coffee cup and saucer was won by Valerie West and the birthday flowers were awarded to Helen Wilson. The competition cup for the most points collected over the year was won by Audrey Jones, Jan Shotton and Pat Dodd were second equal and Kate Burnham was third


The annual meeting followed, chaired by Joanne Patrick at which reports from the treasurer, the secretary and the President were given and adopted. There are presently 66 members.

The committee members for the coming year are Jen Atkinson, Kate Burnham, Sylvia Capron, June Carruthers, Serena Coulter, Pat Dodd, Amanda Hood-Gater, Marion Jones, Jan Shotton, Judy Townshend and Helen Wilson.

Mrs Patrick commented on our healthy numbers and thriving WI. Joanne spoke about this year’s resolutions, which would be voted on at the Annual Meeting. The resolutions are: ‘Avoid food waste, address food poverty’ and ‘Appropriate care in hospitals for people with dementia’. It was decided that the delegate would be given discretion to decide how to vote. Marion Jones was elected President for the coming year. Pat Dodd and Judy Townshend agreed to continue in office as Treasurer and Secretary respectively. Pat Boyd thanked Mrs Patrick for both her support and her comments at the meeting and also thanked the committee for their work over the past year.